Two Master Students With IoP-Related Theses Receive Friedrich-Wilhelm Award 2020


This year, two female master’s students will be awarded the Friedrich Wilhelm Prize 2020 by RWTH Aachen University for their work as part of the "Internet of Production".

On November 27, 2020, Julia Janowitz from the Institute for Surface Technology (IOT) and Sarah Hilker from the Human-Computer Interaction Center (HCIC) will receive the Friedrich Wilhelm Prize for their master’s theses for their work in the context of Cluster of Excellence IoP from RWTH Aachen University. The Friedrich Wilhelm Prize is awarded annually in the form of prize money to students and young researchers at RWTH Aachen who have been selected for their outstanding achievements in master's theses, dissertations and habilitation theses. The two 2020 winners are:

  • Sarah Hilker of HCIC
    Thesis Title: „Trust in Automation – An Empirical Study on User and System Factors"


  • Julia Janowitz of the IOT
    Thesis Title: „Entwicklung verschleißbeständiger Temperatursensoren mittels PVD“ ( Development of wear-resistant temperature sensors using PVD )